Uttarakhand : The making of a new hill state


Uttarakhand  : The making of a new hill state

 History Of Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand, also known as Dev Bhoomi, is a northern hill state of India. It is the 27th state of India and the 11th state of the Himalayan region. Many temples of Hindu deities are located here. The state is divided into two parts, Gadwal and Kumaon. 

The name of the state of Uttarakhand is derived from the combination of Sanskrit words Uttar (Uttara) and Khand (Khand) to form Uttarakhand. Uttar means north direction and Khand means land, which in its entirety means the land of the north or the land situated in the north direction. Uttarakhand is also mentioned in the Vedic Puranas. 

In Hindu scriptures, Kumaon of Uttarakhand state is shown as Manaskhand and Garhwal as Kedarkhand. On the basis of archeological evidence, it has been found that since ancient times, humans have inhabited Uttarakhand.

Uttarakhand separate from Uttar Pradesh

Uttarakhand was formed on 9 November 2000 by separating it from the state of Uttar Pradesh. The name of Uttarakhand was earlier Uttaranchal. Its name was changed to Uttarakhand on 1 January 2007. 

Nepal is situated in the east of Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh in the west, Tibet in the north, and Uttar Pradesh in the south. Dehradun is the capital of Uttarakhand, which is the largest city in the state of Uttarakhand in terms of area.

Capital of Uttarakhand 

After the establishment of the state of Uttarakhand, Dehradun made its temporary capital. But the foundation for which Uttarakhand was formed, to development of the hills, people demands Gairshan for the Capital. As soon as Dehradun became the temporary capital. 

But the People kept demanding to make Gairsain a permanent capital from all the previous governments. Due to this, twenty years after the establishment of Uttarakhand, in the year 2020, Gairsain was made the summer capital of Uttarakhand. Therefore Uttarakhand has become a state with 2  temporary capital. Dehradun is the winter capital of Uttarakhand and Gairsain is the summer capital of Uttarakhand.

Uttarakhand  : The making of a new hill state

 What is the area of ​​Uttarakhand? 

It is the 27th state of India, which is from 28º43' to 31º27' north latitudes and 77º34' to 81º02' east longitudes. Its total area is 53,483 square kilometers, which is 1.69% of the total area of ​​the country, and is the 18th state of India in terms of area.

 Famous movements of Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand is also famous for many movements such as the Chipko movement which was launched to stop the indiscriminate felling of trees. This movement was run by the womens of the mountain. Some other movements like Coolie Begar Movement, Dola Palki Movement etc. 

How many districts are in Uttarakhand?

From the administrative point of view in the state of Uttarakhand, there are 13 districts in Uttarakhand. The total population of Uttarakhand is 1,00,86,349 (based on Census 2011), which is 0.83% of the total population of the country. Uttarakhand is divided into two divisions. Kumaon Division and Garhwal Division. The total number of districts of Uttarakhand by combining both divisions is 13.

The following are the total districts located in Uttarakhand.

1 Pithoragarh

2 Almora

3 Bageshwar

4 Champawat

5 Nainital

6 Uttarkashi

7 Udham Singh Nagar

8 Tehri Garhwal

9 Rudraprayag

10 Pauri Garhwal

11 Haridwar

12 Dehradun

13 Chamoli

Mountains are found on 86 percent of the Uttarakhand area and forests are found on 65 percent. At the time of independence, there was only one Himalayan state 'Assam' in India. After that, Jammu and Kashmir became the second state and Nagaland became the third state, similarly, Uttarakhand became the 11th Himalayan state. For more information, read the geographical structure of the state of Uttarakhand.

Uttarakhand is the only state in India whose official language is Sanskrit. Hindi language is mainly spoken in the state of Uttarakhand, it is also the official language. Along with this, Kumaoni and Garhwali are also used, and many other dialects are also used. 

Some Other Information about Uttarakhand 

Establishment of Uttarakhand (Uttaranchal before 1st January 2007) - dated 9th November 2000

Nickname of Uttarakhand – Devbhoomi

Capital of Uttarakhand – Dehradun

Area of ​​Uttarakhand 53,483 square kilometers

India's total area – 1.69%

Ranked among all the states of India in terms of area – the 18th state

Number of Districts in Uttarakhand – 13 Districts

Total population of Uttarakhand state as per 2011 census – 1,00,86,349

The population of Uttarakhand, India is 0.83% of the total population of the country.

The High Court of Uttarakhand state is located in – Nainital

The largest city by area – Dehradun

Official Language – Hindi, Sanskrit

Sex Ratio as per 2011 Census – 963/1000 (Female/Male)

If you liked Uttarakhand: The making of a new hill state post, then share it and also subscribe to our Instagram, Facebook page and YouTube channel.

Previous Post Next Post