Land Settlement in Uttarakhand - From the British Period to the Tehri State

 Friends, till now we have given you complete information about the history of Uttarakhand, its prehistoric period, and Uttarakhand's separate state movement through various posts, which you can read on this website. In this post, we will give brief information about all the land settlements in Uttarakhand which have taken place from the British period to the Tehri princely state. So read the post till the end -

Land Settlement in Uttarakhand - From the British Period to the Tehri State

Land settlement in Uttarakhand

If we talk about all the land settlement in Uttarakhand till now, then it has also been seen in the history of the Chand rule of Kumaon and the Panwar rule of Garhwal, but in general, we can talk about the modern system of land settlement since the British rule. 
I study It is obvious that this question will arise in your mind as well, why is it like this, so if I explain it in simple language, the land settlement was distributed by the British on the basis of soil, its fertility and crops. On the basis of which tax should be collected from the public or the farmers.

During the British rule in India, many settlements have been made all over India, in which you must have heard about permanent settlement, ryotwari settlement, and revenue. On the basis of this settlement, the administrative structure of the land system was created in small provinces as well. 

So that the loot is good for such a comfortable life. Some people do not get tired of appreciating the administrative system of the British, an example for them is the arrangement they had made to oppress the public and fill their pockets, where India removed the Zamindari law after independence, and Pakistan separated from us. 
               PLAY AND WIN BIG CASH 

Even now it is running with the same system and the zamindari remains the real owner of the farm. This is the reason why India is self-sufficient in food grains, while Pakistan has not been able to become self-sufficient in food grains even after getting a very fertile area of ​​Punjab.
Well, let's talk about the land settlement done by these dirty people in Uttarakhand -

Land settlement in Uttarakhand during the British period

  • After the expulsion of the Gorkhas from Uttarakhand in 1815, 12 land settlements have taken place in Uttarakhand during the British period.
  • This land settlement took place in 1815 in Kumaon under the leadership of Gardner and in 1816 in Garhwal under the leadership of Traill.
  • The land settlement of 1815 and 1816 was only for one year, which is why it is called the Eksala settlement or annual settlement.
  • After this settlement, the first Patwari was appointed by Trail in 1819.
  • In 1823, Trail again determined the Panchshala settlement, in which the name of the land was determined by visiting the village, it is also called the eighty-year settlement.
  • William Traill made a total of 7 land settlements during his tenure (from 1816 to 1833).
  • In which the land settlement again in 1817 in British Kumaon is also included.
  • Following the trail, Batten made a twenty-year land settlement in 1840.
  • This settlement was the 8th land settlement of the British period.
  • The special feature of Baten's land settlement was that it gave every village the right to keep its own records and fixed the rate of rent at one rupee BC.
 ALSO, READ - History of Chand Dynasty

Wicket Settlement (1863 to 1873)

  • During the British period, the 9th land settlement was done at the time of the wicket.
  • The scientific method was used for the first time in this settlement.
  • Wicket itself divided the mountainous land into 5 parts - in which
  • Talav Bhoomi - The land of river ghats where there was a system of irrigation.
  • Upper Top - On the higher dimensions of the mountainous regions.
  • Upraon Doyam - Top of the second tier
  • Ijran - Low grade bumpy
  • Barbed-Kheel land / divided on the basis of.
  • The 10th land settlement took place in 1887 during Pau's tenure after Wicket. In which happened under the leadership of Goonj in Kumaon.
  • While the 11th land settlement took place in Garhwal in 1928 under the leadership of Ibbotson.
  • The 12th and last land settlement in Uttarakhand was done by the Government of Uttar Pradesh between 1960-64.

Land settlement in Tehri state

With the arrival of the British in Uttarakhand in 1815, they cleverly took control of the entire Kumaon and some part of Garhwal from Sudarshan Shah and gave a small area of ​​Tehri to the Panwar dynasty that ruled Garhwal. Although 1815 Tehri was also not completely independent, the interference of the Kumaon commissioner is also visible somewhere in the reins of the Panwar dynasty.

However, administrative control was still virtually in the hands of the Panwar dynasty, who moved the capital first to Tehri and then to Narendranagar. During this, they also established separate forest laws and forest departments for land settlement and forests, which had similarities with the British Raj. Used to meet

Settlement in the princely state of Tehri

  • A total of 5 land settlements took place in the princely state of Tehri.
  • The first land settlement of the princely state of Tehri was done by Sudarshan Shah in 1823.
  • The second land settlement in the princely state of Tehri was done in 1823 by Bhavani Shah in 1861 in which Attur Patti was exempted from tax.
  • The third land settlement in the princely state of Tehri was done by Pratapshah in 1873 with Jula's measurement.
  • The fourth land settlement of Tehri was done by Kirti Shah in 1903.
  • And the fifth and final land settlement was done by Narendra Shah in 1924.
  • After this, Tehri became a part of the Republic of India on August 1, 1949, due to continuous public protest in the princely state of Tehri.

This Whole article is originally written by Deepak Bisht on It is a translated version of that article if you find some errors. Please correct us. :)

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post